February 29, 2008 – Fredric Jameson: “The Three Names of the Dialectic”

The Three Names of the Dialectic
Friday, February 29 / 3-5 PM / Humanities 210

Download a copy of the seminar reading.

Fredric Jameson is the William A. Lane Professor of Comparative Literature and Romance Studies at Duke University and Director, since 2003, of Duke University’s Institute for Critical Theory. He is the author of over 20 books, including Marxism and Form (Princeton, 1971), The Prison-House of Language (Princeton, 1972), The Political Unconscious (Cornell, 1981), Late Marxism: Adorno, or, the Persistence of the Dialectic (Verso, 1990), Signatures of the
 (Routledge, 1990), Postmodernism, or, The Cultural Logic of Late Capitalism (Duke,1990, winner of the MLA James Russell Lowell Award in 1990), Seeds of Time (Columbia, 1994), Brecht and Method (Verso, 1998), The Cultural Turn (Verso, 1998), A Singular Modernity (Verso, 2002), and The Modernist Papers (Verso, 2007). At Duke he teaches modernism, Third World literature and cinema, Marx & Freud, the modern French novel and cinema, and the Frankfurt School. Among Fredric Jameson’s ongoing concerns is the need to analyze literature as an encoding of political and social imperatives, and the interpretation of modernist and postmodernist assumptions through a rethinking of Marxist methodology. He is on the Editorial Board of South Atlantic QuarterlyCritical InquiryRethinking Marxism, and boundary 2, among others. His work has been translated into Catalan, Chinese, Danish, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Rumanian, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, and Spanish.

This seminar will be an introduction to the dialectic as a philosophical system and a method of thought, taking into account many of the current objections to this mode of thinking.

For more information please contact Gopal Balakrishnan, gopalb@ucsc.edu.

Sponsored by the Capitalisms and Anti-Capitalisms Research Cluster